hamlet_gdansk_photo by reza ghaziani.jpg

Gdańsk Shakespeare Theatre announces that during the twentieth Shakespeare Festival will see "Hamlet" Iranian Quantum Theatre Group, directed by Arash Dadgar.

Quantum Theatre Group was founded in 2009 by director Arash Dagdara. It inspires them to adapt to the theatrical stage classical plays, novels, short stories - which give contemporary meanings and contexts, taking into account the modern theories in the area of physics (references to quantum physics are already visible in the name of the band). Created by their surreal world with a mixture of grotesque relationship is in Shakespeare unique interlocutor.

"Shakespeare is my encyclopedia of knowledge about the contradictions inherent in human nature" - says Arash Dagdar, born in 1973, director and founder of the band. "It surprises me and delights, is mysterious, dramatic ... This is my contemporary Iranian playwright! Issue of Shakespeare, is subjecting himself sample is showing what you know about life, but also what still eludes us. Hamlet, the latest production Quantum Theatre Group in 2014 was born of the rewrite project lasting four years. I chose him to answer a number of outstanding issues: whether Hamlet is mad? is the Spirit of the Father Hamlet really exist, or is only a projection of the mind son? My answer is: this tragedy is a constant collision of electrons and, as in physics, the results of these collisions are unpredictable. uncertainty reigns. "

Shakespeare Festival in Gdansk is one of the largest international events, which organizers - Gdańsk Shakespeare Theatre and the Foundation Theatrum Gedanense - every year invite the best Shakespearean performances and the most prominent theater artists from around the world.

In previous editions we had the pleasure to host such stars as: Luk Perceval, László Bocsárdi, Robert Sturua, Silviu Purcărete, Edward Hall, Giuseppe Dipasquale and many others. We also had the opportunity to see the interpretations of Shakespeare's plays performed by theaters, among others, from the UK, Russia, Ukraine, Germany, Latvia, Cuba, Denmark, Italy, Belarus, Hungary, Armenia, Iceland, Israel, South Korea, the United States, Japan, Spain, Georgia, Finland, Sweden, Macedonia, the Czech Republic, Romania and Zimbabwe.